Menu

IDEA Competition Winner 2021

IDEA Competition Winner 2021

Cheekbone Beauty Cosmetics creative developed by Sid Lee

Cheekbone Beauty awarded $1 million worth of media inventory for its “Right the Story” campaign in support of Indigenous communities

TORONTO (June 10, 2021) - Bell Media announced today, from its Upfront 21 presentation, that Cheekbone Beauty Cosmetics and its agency Sid Lee have won the Institute of Communications Agencies’ (ICA) inaugural Inclusivity, Diversity and Equity in Advertising (IDEA) competition, held in partnership with Bell Media. This year’s focus was on campaigns highlighting Indigenous communities with the winner awarded $1 million worth of inventory on Bell Media platforms. This year’s winner is the Indigenous-owned Cheekbone Beauty, whose mission is to help  Indigenous youth see and feel their impact in the world while creating sustainable colour cosmetics.

Featuring a positive news “smear campaign”, the award-winning creative blocks out negative headlines about Indigenous communities, focusing audience attention on good news championing positivity and defiance, seeking to “right the story” of Indigenous people in the media.

In addition to the creative excellence and ingenuity behind its winning proposal, Cheekbone Beauty’s entry excelled across all competition criteria, including its commitment to promoting an inclusive culture and diverse representation throughout the entire campaign execution.

“The purpose and ambition shown in the entries made judging very hard and at times emotional, which is exactly what we wanted – the agencies and brands put everything into it,” 

said Scott Knox, President & CEO, ICA.  

“I have no doubt that seeing the final campaign delivered by Sid Lee and Cheekbone Beauty will set a new standard, not only for diversity in marketing but excellence in authentic brand building. I’m also sure we’ll see the other entries come to life too.”

“Congratulations to Cheekbone Beauty and Sid Lee on this well-deserved win, which magnifies the essence of the campaign’s double entendre “Right the Story”. Behind this positive headline is an Indigenous-owned beauty brand that celebrates and supports diversity, inclusion and equity in every aspect of its business,” 

said Brandon Moonrei, Director, DSP Partnerships & Client Strategy, Bell Media. 

“Bell Media proudly salutes all of this year’s outstanding  participants for their excellent entries, and for modeling a diverse and inclusive blueprint for the Canadian media industry.” 

This year’s winning entry was selected by a specially curated jury comprised of 12 diverse, established talent from the Canadian media sector, bringing a breadth of creativity, experience and vision toward increasing diverse and inclusive representation in advertising and within the media industry as a whole.

Open to national and international brands and their agencies, the IDEA Competition seeks to create meaningful change in the media industry and to encourage greater representation of diverse communities in Canadian advertising campaigns while also encouraging diversity and inclusivity in the creative process.

IDEA Competition Winner 2021

L’élément créatif de la campagne de l’entreprise de produits cosmétiques Cheekbone Beauty, élaboré par Sid Lee

Cheekbone Beauty reçoit un million de dollars sous forme de couverture médiatique pour sa campagne visant à rectifier l’histoire en soutien aux communautés autochtones


TORONTO (le 10 juin 2021) – Bell Média a annoncé aujourd’hui dans sa présentation de vente Upfront 21 que l’entreprise de produits cosmétiques Cheekbone Beauty et son agence Sid Lee ont gagné l’édition inaugurale du Concours pour l’inclusion, la diversité et l’équité en publicité (IDEA) de l’Institut des agences de communication (ICA), organisée en partenariat avec Bell Média. Celle-ci se concentrait cette année sur les campagnes mettant en valeur les communautés autochtones. Le gagnant recevait l’équivalent d’un million de dollars en couverture médiatique sur les plateformes de Bell Média. Le gagnant de cette année est Cheekbone Beauty, une entreprise appartenant à des personnes autochtones, dont la mission est de montrer aux jeunes autochtones leur influence dans le monde, tout en créant des produits cosmétiques colorés et durables.

Présentant une « campagne de détraction » de nouvelles positives, la création gagnante couvre les titres négatifs sur les communautés autochtones et concentre l’attention du public sur de bonnes nouvelles. Elle défend la positivité et la défiance en cherchant à rectifier l’histoire des peuples autochtones dans les médias.

En plus de la grande créativité et de l’ingéniosité ayant donné lieu à sa création gagnante, Cheekbone Beauty a excellé dans tous les critères du concours avec sa soumission, notamment par son engagement à promouvoir une culture d’inclusion et une représentation diversifiée du début à la fin de la campagne.

« La détermination et l’ambition dont on a fait preuve dans les soumissions ont rendu l’évaluation ardue et, par moments, émouvante. C’est exactement ce que nous recherchions. Les agences et les marques y ont réellement mis cœur et âme »

said Scott Knox, President & CEO, ICA.  

« Je ne doute pas que voir la campagne finale présentée par Sid Lee et Cheekbone Beauty établira une nouvelle norme, tant pour la diversité en marketing que pour l’excellence en matière de mise en valeur authentique de la marque. Je suis également certain que nous verrons les autres soumissions prendre vie. »

« Félicitations à Cheekbone Beauty et Sid Lee pour cette victoire bien méritée, qui souligne l’essence à double sens de la campagne visant à rectifier l’histoire. Derrière ce titre positif se cache une marque de produits de beauté appartenant à des personnes autochtones qui célèbre et favorise la diversité, l’inclusion et l’équité dans tous les aspects de ses activités  »

said Brandon Moonrei, Director, DSP Partnerships & Client Strategy, Bell Media. 

« Bell Média est fière de saluer tous les participants exceptionnels de cette année pour leurs superbes soumissions, et pour avoir concrétisé un projet de diversité et d’inclusion pour l’industrie médiatique au Canada. »

La soumission gagnante cette année a été choisie par un jury spécialement composé de douze professionnels chevronnés issus de secteurs diversifiés de l’industrie médiatique canadienne qui font preuve d’un grand esprit de créativité, possèdent une vaste expérience et sont des visionnaires pour ce qui est de favoriser une représentation plus diversifiée et plus inclusive dans l’industrie publicitaire et médiatique dans son ensemble.

Ouvert aux marques nationales et internationales ainsi qu’à leurs agences, le concours IDEA vise à créer un changement significatif dans l’industrie médiatique et à encourager une meilleure représentation des diverses communautés dans les campagnes de publicité au Canada tout en faisant la promotion de la diversité et de l’inclusion dans le processus créatif.

Privacy Policy English & Français