Support Indigenous Small Business

'Remembering the Seventies' is a digital artwork created by Metis artist Teresa Young.

True Ally Resources

"It's really easy to morally align yourself with what is ... just ... and say you're an ally but until you're going out of your way to correct things, you're not necessarily a true ally."

Vince The Messenger

Many thanks to Weber Shandwick for compiling this list of Canadian BIPOC Businesses to support this holiday season.


NATIONAL

ART

Bizaanideewin: https://bizaanideewin.com/

Spirit Works: https://www.spiritworks.ca/creations/

Black Sun Comics: https://blacksuncomics.com/

APPAREL

Freed and Freed: https://www.freedandfreed.com/

Manitobah Mukluks: https://www.manitobah.ca/

Scarlett Designs Masks: https://scarlettjdesigns.com/

Kokum Scunchies: https://kokomscrunchies.ca/

DOLLS

Brown Diva Dolls: https://browndivasdolls.com/

JEWELRY

Tiny Zen: https://tinyzenmemory.com/

SKINCARE

Cheekbone Beauty: https://cheekbonebeauty.ca/

Satya Organic Skin Care: https://satya.ca/

Yukon Soaps: https://yukonsoaps.com/

HOME

The Bees Knees: https://shop.thebeeskneesstore.com/

BOOKS

Raven Reads: https://ravenreads.org/

CONSUMABLES

Spirit Bear Coffee: https://spiritbearcoffeecompany.com/


ONTARIO

ARTISTS

Melissa Falconer: https://www.mfalconer.com/

Luke Swinson: https://lukeswinsonart.com/

Anna Heffernan: https://miskwaadesigns.com/shop

APPAREL

Get Fresh: https://gfctoronto.com/collections/shop

KIDSWEAR

Nudnik: https://nudniklife.com/collections/holiday-fiesta

JEWELRY

Not Magic: https://www.notmagicshop.com/

HOME

https://www.thegreenjarshop.com/

BOOKS

https://www.adifferentbooklist.com/

CONSUMABLES

Cup of Te: https://cupofte.ca/

Ocean Spice: https://oceanspice.ca/shop

List of Toronto restaurants: https://www.blogto.com/city/2020/06/black-owned-businesses-toronto/


VANCOUVER

ARTISTS

Elinor Atkins: https://www.instagram.com/elinoratkins_art/?hl=en

Alano Edzerza: https://www.edzerzagallery.com/

Charlene Johnny: https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/CoastSalishArtist

APPAREL

Devi Arts Collective: https://www.deviartscollective.ca/

All Things Being Eco: https://allthingsbeingeco.ca/

SKINCARE

Woodlot: https://shopwoodlot.ca/

Sisters Sage: https://sisterssage.com/

HOME

Boostani: https://www.boostani.ca/

BOOKS

Massy Books: http://www.massybooks.com/

CONSUMABLES

Mumgry: https://www.mumgry.com/

Leavenly Goods: https://leavenlygoods.ca/

List of Vancouver restaurants: https://dailyhive.com/vancouver/black-owned-restaurants-vancouver


QUEBEC

ARTISTS

Native Made Dream Catchers: https://nativemadedreamcatchers.com/

APPAREL

MINI TIPI: https://minitipi.ca/pages/about-us

SKINCARE

Jazmin Sarai: https://www.jazminsarai.com/

Luxcey: https://www.luxcey.com/

HOME

Vrac and Bocaux: https://vracetbocaux.ca/

Goodee: https://www.goodeeworld.com/

BOOKS

Librairie Rancines: www.librairieracines.com

CONSUMABLES

Espices de Cru: https://epicesdecru.com/

LS Cream Liqueur: https://www.creamls.com/

List of Montreal restaurants: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1_lVs-BubLkM2GTamBgKPLyOPewDmdIGAmHMoZkwzIHM/edit?ts=5ed91c5a#gid=0


'Remembering the Seventies' is a digital artwork created by Metis artist Teresa Young. The flowing colours and complementary colour harmonies recall the psychedelic fantastical art and designs seen often in that decade. Teresa Young's unique style has an Indigenous flair that works well with the often paisley based patterns and designs of seventies. What was most striking about the designs in fashion, furniture and decor of that era were the vivid complementary colours and flowing lines.